Preferencje help
Widoczny [Schowaj] Abstrakt
Liczba wyników
2013 | 11 | 9 | 1066-1073
Tytuł artykułu

Optimal control strategies for coupled quantum dots

Treść / Zawartość
Warianty tytułu
Języki publikacji
Semiconductor quantum dots are ideal candidates for quantum information applications in solid-state technology. However, advanced theoretical and experimental tools are required to coherently control, for example, the electronic charge in these systems. Here we demonstrate how quantum optimal control theory provides a powerful way to manipulate the electronic structure of coupled quantum dots with an extremely high fidelity. As alternative control fields we apply both laser pulses as well as electric gates, respectively. We focus on double and triple quantum dots containing a single electron or two electrons interacting via Coulomb repulsion. In the two-electron situation we also briefly demonstrate the challenges of timedependent density-functional theory within the adiabatic local-density approximation to produce comparable results with the numerically exact approach.
Słowa kluczowe

Opis fizyczny
  • Department of Physics, Tampere University of Technology, FI-33101, Tampere, Finland,
  • Department of Physics, Tampere University of Technology, FI-33101, Tampere, Finland
  • [1] R. Hanson, L. P. Kouwenhoven, J. R Petta, S. Tarucha, L. M. K. Vandersypen, Rev. Mod. Phys. 79, 1217 (2007)[Crossref]
  • [2] J. R. Petta et al., Science 309, 2180 (2005)[Crossref]
  • [3] M. Kataoka et al., Phys. Rev. Lett. 102, 156801 (2009)[Crossref]
  • [4] E. Räsänen, A. Castro, J. Werschnik, A. Rubio, E. K. U. Gross, Phys. Rev. B 77, 085324 (2008)[Crossref]
  • [5] L. Sælen, R. Nepstad, I. Degani, J. P. Hansen, Phys. Rev. Lett. 100, 046805 (2008)[Crossref]
  • [6] R. Nepstad, L. Sælen, I. Degani, J. P. Hansen, J. Phys. Condens. Mat. 21, 215501 (2009)[Crossref]
  • [7] A. Putaja, E. Räsänen, Phys. Rev. B 82, 165336 (2010)[Crossref]
  • [8] E. Räsänen, T. Blasi, M. F. Borunda, E. J. Heller, Phys. Rev. B 86, 205308 (2012)[Crossref]
  • [9] T. Blasi, M. Borunda, E. Räsänen, E. J. Heller, Phys. Rev. B 87, 241303(R) (2013)[Crossref]
  • [10] S. M. Reimann, M. Manninen, Rev. Mod. Phys. 74, 1283 (2002)[Crossref]
  • [11] A. P. Peirce, M. A. Dahleh, H. Rabitz, Phys. Rev. A 37, 4950 (1988)[Crossref]
  • [12] R. Kosloff, S. A. Rice, P. Gaspard, S. Tersigni, D. J. Tannor, Chem. Phys. 139, 201 (1989)[Crossref]
  • [13] J. Werschnik, E. K. U. Gross, J. Phys. B Atom. Mol. Opt. Phys. 40, R175 (2007)[Crossref]
  • [14] C. Brif, R. Chakrabarti, H. Rabitz, New J. Phys. 12, 075008 (2010)[Crossref]
  • [15] W. Zhu, H. Rabitz, J. Chem. Phys. 108, 1953 (1998)[Crossref]
  • [16] W. Zhu, H. Rabitz, J. Chem. Phys. 109, 385 (1998)[Crossref]
  • [17] J. Werschnik, E.K.U. Gross, J. Opt. B-Quantum S. O. 7, S300 (2005)
  • [18] A. Castro, E. Räsänen, A. Rubio, E. K. U. Gross, Europhys. Lett. 87, 53001 (2009)[Crossref]
  • [19] A. Castro, I. V. Tokatly, Phys. Rev. A 84, 033410 (2011)[Crossref]
  • [20] M. J. D. Powell, Large-Scale Nonlinear Optimization (Springer, New York, 2004) 255
  • [21] M. A. L. Marques, A. Castro, G. F. Bertsch, A. Rubio, Comp. Phys. Comm. 151, 60 (2003)[Crossref]
  • [22] A. Castro et al., Phys. Stat. Sol. B 243, 2465 (2006)[Crossref]
  • [23] A. Castro, M. A. L. Marques, Lect. Notes Phys. 706, 197 (2006)[Crossref]
  • [24] L. P. Kouwenhoven, D. G. Austing, S. Tarucha, Rep. Prog. Phys. 64, 701 (2001)[Crossref]
  • [25] L. E. Jensen, M. T. Björk, S. Jeppesen, A. I. Persson, B. J. Ohlsson, L. Samuelson, Nano Lett. 4, 1961 (2004)[Crossref]
  • [26] E. E. Boyd, K. Storm, L. Samuelson, R. M. Westervelt, Nanotechnology 22, 185201 (2011)[Crossref]
  • [27] A. C. Bleszynski, F. A. Zwanenburg, R. M. Westervelt, A. L. Roest, E. P. A. M. Bakkers, L. P. Kouwenhoven, Nano Lett. 7, 2559 (2007)[Crossref]
  • [28] E. Räsänen, J. Könemann, R. J. Haug, M. J. Puska, R. M. Nieminen, Phys. Rev. B 70, 115308 (2004)[Crossref]
  • [29] E. Räsänen, H. Saarikoski, A. Harju, M. Ciorga, A. S. Sachrajda, Phys. Rev. B 77, 041302(R) (2008)[Crossref]
  • [30] M. C. Rogge, E. Räsänen, R. J. Haug, Phys. Rev. Lett. 105, 046802 (2010)[Crossref]
  • [31] M. Lein, J. Mod. Opt. 58, 1188 (2011) and references therein.[Crossref]
  • [32] G. E. Murgida, D. A. Wisniacki, P. I. Tamborenea, Phys. Rev. Lett. 99, 036806 (2007)[Crossref]
  • [33] G. E. Murgida, D. A. Wisniacki, P. I. Tamborenea, Phys. Rev. B 79, 035326 (2009)[Crossref]
  • [34] E. Runge, E. K. U. Gross, Phys. Rev. Lett. 52, 997 (1984)[Crossref]
  • [35] C. Ullrich, Time-Dependent Density-Functional Theory: Concepts and Applications (Oxford University Press, Oxford, 2012)
  • [36] A. Castro, J. Werschnik, E. K. U. Gross, Phys. Rev. Lett. 109, 153603 (2012)[Crossref]
  • [37] M. Hellgren, E. Räsänen, E. K. U. Gross, Phys. Rev. A (in press)
  • [38] N. Helbig et al., Phys. Rev. A 83, 032503 (2011)[Crossref]
  • [39] Y.-S. Lee, Principles of Terahertz Science and Technology (Springer, 2009)
  • [40] A. Wirth et al., Science 334, 195 (2011)[Crossref]
Typ dokumentu
Identyfikator YADDA
JavaScript jest wyłączony w Twojej przeglądarce internetowej. Włącz go, a następnie odśwież stronę, aby móc w pełni z niej korzystać.